Back to missingkids.ca home page

Working With Police

If your child is not located after an initial search of the area, you should immediately call the police. Law enforcement, in this type of case, will respond quickly and you will need to take direction from them. While most children who get lost are located quickly, the response must be immediate. Depending on the location where your child has gotten lost, it may take a while for law enforcement to reach the scene. Even though in most cases where a child goes missing they are located safely, it is very important that each case be treated as an emergency.

What to Expect From Law Enforcement

Remember: In Canada, you do not have to wait to report your child missing.

  • Law enforcement will take your report immediately.

  • When you first contact the police, make sure you get the following information:

    1. An incident number

    2. The name of the officer taking the report

    3. A phone number for follow up

It is important that you work with law enforcement to the best of your ability.

Things to Remember:

  • Once law enforcement is contacted, consider filling out the MissingKids.ca Initial Intake form if you wish to receive services from MissingKids.ca.
  • MissingKids.ca offers support services to searching families and can assist in the search for your missing child.
  • It is absolutely critical that you are honest with police. They are an important partner in helping locate your child and need to be aware of any circumstances surrounding the disappearance –regardless of how this will reflect upon you or your family.

  • No one is a perfect parent and the police understand this. Be sure you are honest about how long your child was separated from you before you realized they were missing. It is very important that law enforcement have a clear picture of the timing and sequence of events in order to effectively respond to and work towards locating your child.

  • All facts will come to light eventually and it is best if police know everything right away and that the information comes directly from you.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Travailler avec la police

Si vos premières recherches pour retrouver votre enfant sont vaines, appelez aussitôt la police. Dans pareille situation, la police agira rapidement, et vous devrez vous conformer à ses directives. Généralement, l’enfant perdu sera vite retrouvé, mais il faut agir immédiatement. Tout dépendant de l’endroit où votre enfant s’est égaré, il peut s’écouler quelque temps avant que la police arrive sur les lieux. Même si les enfants portés disparus sont retrouvés sains et saufs dans la plupart des cas, il est très important que chaque cas soit traité comme une urgence.

À quoi s’attendre de la police

N’oubliez pas : Au Canada, vous n’avez pas à attendre avant de signaler la disparition d’un enfant.

  • La police prendra votre signalement aussitôt.
  • Quand vous communiquez avec la police pour la première fois, prenez soin de demander les renseignements suivants :
  • Numéro d’incident

  • Nom de l’agent qui a reçu le signalement

  • Numéro de téléphone pour les suivis

La police doit pouvoir compter sur votre entière collaboration.

À retenir :

  • Après avoir alerté la police, pensez à remplir le formulaire de signalement initial d’EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca si vous désirez recevoir les services de ce programme.
  • EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca offre des services de soutien aux familles éprouvées et peut vous aider dans vos recherches.
  • Il est primordial d’être honnête avec la police, car elle sera un allié précieux dans vos recherches pour retrouver votre enfant et elle a besoin de connaître toutes les circonstances entourant sa disparition, même si cela risque de vous faire mal paraître, vous ou votre famille.

  • Il n’y a pas de parent parfait, et la police le sait bien. Déclarez honnêtement le temps que votre enfant a été séparé de vous avant que vous ne constatiez sa disparition. Il est très important que la police puisse reconstituer clairement la chronologie des événements pour être en mesure d’agir efficacement et de chercher à retrouver votre enfant.

  • Les faits finiront inévitablement par être établis, et il vaut mieux que la police sache tout, tout de suite, et que l’information vienne directement de vous.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.