Back to missingkids.ca home page

Help us find missing children Asja and Milan Johnson

May 25th is Missing Children’s Day

May 25, 2018
For Immediate Release

Winnipeg, MB: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) is asking the public to help us on International Missing Children’s Day – pay attention to your surroundings and see if you recognize missing sisters Asja and Milan Johnson, last seen in Ontario.

Now 10 and five years old, the girls were allegedly abducted from the Bahamas by their mother Dazelle Johnson in July 2014, along with their older brothers, in violation of a custody agreement. Of extreme concern, in 2015 the brothers were left with a stranger in London, Ontario, but have since been reunited with their dad back home in the Bahamas. Their mother disappeared with Asja and Milan – the Canadian Centre has received information that suggests they are still somewhere in Canada.

“We strongly believe that these two little girls are somewhere in Canada. With the public’s help, we hope to locate them,” said Christy Dzikowicz, Director of Missingkids.ca at the Canadian Centre. “They could be enrolled in your local school, in a Sunday school class, or playing soccer with your kids. We need everyone to look around and consider if they recognize these girls living in your community.”

An estimated 80 per cent* of child abductions are committed by parents. While parental abduction might not seem concerning, it is a traumatic crime that damages both the children involved and their families who are left behind. As part of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection’s Letters from Home campaign for Missing Children’s Month, Asja and Milan’s brothers each wrote a letter to their missing sisters.

“Asja, Milan, and Mommy I really miss you all. I love you all too much I can’t forget about yall. I don’t even know why we even separated in the first place.”

— Cruz, now 15 years old

“Dear mom, Asja and Milan it has been over 2 years now and we really miss you all. It would mean the world to me if I can even just hear the voice of ya’ll.”

— Morgan, now 13 years old

Anyone with information in relation to their whereabouts over the last four years is asked to call the London Police Service at (519) 661-5670 or MissingKids.ca at 1-866-KID-TIPS (543-8477). Tips can also be submitted online at www.missingkids.ca.

“These girls are four years older than these photos, and they may now have been given different names,” said Dzikowicz. “This Missing Children’s Day, we want more than anything to help bring Asja and Milan home to see their dad and their brothers again. We need your help to do that.”

We are always searching for Canada’s missing children. Go to the Canadian Centre’s Missing Children Database for more information on children who need your help.

*RCMP Gazette Magazine, Vol. 78, No. 1 – Just the Facts http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/en/gazette/child-abduction

For more information please contact:
Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Phone:
204-945-8074

Note to media: Images of Asja and Milan, and of the letters from brothers Cruz and Morgan, are available here.

MissingKids.ca “Spot the Child Abductor” campaign, featuring Asja and Milan, is posted here for your use.

-30-

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety and protection of children. Our goal is to reduce the sexual abuse and exploitation of children, to assist in the location of missing children and to prevent child victimization.

About MissingKids.ca: MissingKids.ca is part of the Canadian Centre’s Child Safety and Family Advocacy Division (CSFAD). CSFAD provides support to Canadian families whose children are missing, have been recovered, or have been sexually abused and exploited. CSFAD also works with families, law enforcement and child welfare agencies to help prevent and respond to situations where a child is at risk of going missing or being sexually exploited.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Aidez-nous à retrouver Asja et Milan Johnson

Le 25 mai, c’est la Journée des enfants disparus

25 mai 2018
Pour diffusion immédiate

Winnipeg (Manitoba) – Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) demande l’aide du public à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des enfants disparus. Les sœurs Asja et Milan Johnson ont été vues pour la dernière fois en Ontario. Ouvrez l’œil au cas où vous les verriez dans votre voisinage.

Asja et Milan Johnson, aujourd’hui âgées de 10 et 5 ans, auraient été enlevées par leur mère en juillet 2014 et emmenées au Canada avec leurs frères aînés en violation d’une entente de garde conclue aux Bahamas. Un an plus tard, les garçons ont été confiés à un étranger à London (Ontario) et ont depuis été restitués à leur père aux Bahamas. La mère d’Asja et de Milan a disparu avec les filles et l’on croit qu’elles habitent encore quelque part au Canada.

« Nous sommes persuadés que ces deux petites filles se trouvent quelque part au Canada, estime Christy Dzikowicz, directrice du programme EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca du CCPE. Nous espérons qu’avec l’aide du public, nous parviendrons à les trouver. Elles pourraient fréquenter votre école de quartier, aller à l’école du dimanche ou jouer au soccer avec vos enfants. Nous demandons à tous de vérifier si elles habitent dans leur voisinage. »

Environ 80 % des enlèvements d’enfants sont commis par un de leurs parents*. Même si l’enlèvement par un parent ne semble pas inquiétant a priori, c’est un crime traumatisant qui afflige à la fois les enfants enlevés et les autres membres de leur famille. Dans le cadre de la campagne « Lettres des familles » menée par le CCPE durant le Mois des enfants disparus, les frères d’Asja et de Milan ont chacun écrit une lettre à leurs sœurs disparues.

« Asja, Milan et maman, vous me manquez vraiment beaucoup. Je vous aime toutes tellement, je ne pourrai jamais vous oublier. Je ne sais même pas pourquoi nous ne sommes plus ensemble. »

— Cruz, aujourd’hui âgé de 15 ans

« Chères maman, Asja et Milan, plus de deux ans se sont écoulés maintenant, et vous nous manquez terriblement. Je serais le garçon le plus heureux du monde si je pouvais juste entendre de nouveau vos voix. »

— Morgan, aujourd’hui âgé de 13 ans

Si vous avez des informations sur les allées et venues d’Asja et de Milan au cours des quatre dernières années, communiquez avec le Service de police de London au (519) 661-5670 ou EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca au 1 866 543-8477. Les informations peuvent également être transmises par Internet au www.EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca.

« Asja et Milan ont aujourd’hui quatre ans de plus que sur ces photos et peuvent avoir changé de nom, précise Christy Dzikowicz. À l’occasion de la Journée des enfants disparus, nous voulons plus que tout faire quelque chose pour les ramener à la maison, auprès de leur père et de leurs frères. Nous avons besoin de votre aide pour y arriver. »

Nous n’arrêtons jamais de chercher les enfants canadiens qui ont disparu. Consultez le Fichier des enfants disparus pour vous renseigner sur les enfants qui ont besoin de votre aide.

*Revue Gazette de la GRC, vol. 78, no 1 – Les faits http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/fr/gazette/enlevement-denfants

Renseignements :
Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

Téléphone :
204 945-8074

Avis aux médias : Des photos d’Asja et de Milan ainsi que des lettres de leurs frères Cruz et Morgan sont à votre disposition ici.

-30-

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance : Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance est un organisme caritatif national voué à la sécurité personnelle et à la protection des enfants. Il a pour objectifs de réduire les abus pédosexuels et l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants, d'aider à retrouver les enfants disparus et de prévenir la violence faite aux enfants.

Un mot sur la Division de la sécurité des enfants et de la défense des familles et EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca : EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca fait partie de la Division de la sécurité des enfants et de la défense des familles (DSEDF) du CCPE. La DSEDF offre du soutien aux familles canadiennes après la disparition ou le retour d’un enfant, ou en cas d’abus pédosexuel ou d’exploitation sexuelle. La DSEDF travaille aussi avec les familles, les forces de l’ordre et les agences de protection de l’enfance dans un esprit de prévention et d’intervention en situation de risque de disparition ou d’exploitation sexuelle d’un enfant.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.