Back to missingkids.ca home page

AMBER Alert

The AMBER Alert program is a voluntary partnership between law enforcement agencies and media broadcasters to send out emergency alerts to the public when a child has been abducted and it is believed that the child’s life is in imminent danger. The program provides the public with immediate and up-to-date information about a child abduction via widespread media broadcasts, including television and radio, and solicits the public’s help in assisting in the safe and swift return of an abducted child. Each province in Canada has an AMBER Alert program, issuing alerts within their specific regions. An AMBER Alert can only be activated by police agencies, and is only issued for the most serious, time-sensitive cases.

What is an AMBER Alert?

An AMBER Alert is a warning system designed to quickly alert the public of an abducted child believed to be in imminent danger. When an AMBER Alert is issued, radio and television stations immediately interrupt programming to broadcast information about the abducted child, the alleged abductor and any vehicle description available. The AMBER Alert program immediately engages the local community in the search for the child and their abductor.

Research has shown that if an abducted child is going to be harmed, it usually occurs within a short time period. The AMBER Alert program helps expedite the recovery of an abducted child and benefits communities by:

  • Making the community aware of the urgency of the situation.

  • Mobilizing the community to assist in the recovery of an abducted child and in apprehending the abductor.

  • Giving law enforcement a powerful tool to assist in the location of an abducted child and giving media broadcasters a way to help their community by issuing alerts.

  • Increasing law enforcement’s ability to locate witnesses and help resolve child abduction cases quickly due to extensive radio and television coverage.

In Canada, AMBER Alert programs are provincially operated. While most provinces have AMBER Alert committees, only law enforcement can issue an AMBER Alert.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

L’alerte AMBER

Le dispositif d’alerte AMBER repose sur la libre collaboration des instances policières et des médias. Il sert à prévenir la population lorsqu’un enfant est enlevé et que l’on craint pour sa vie. Il permet de communiquer rapidement à la population, à grand renfort d’annonces à la télé et à la radio, les plus récentes informations concernant un enlèvement d’enfant et de demander la collaboration de la population pour que l’enfant soit retrouvé sain et sauf dans les meilleurs délais. Un dispositif d’alerte AMBER est en place dans chaque province du Canada pour émettre des alertes sur son territoire. Les alertes AMBER ne peuvent être déclenchées que par la police et sont réservées aux cas les plus sérieux et urgents.

Qu’est-ce qu’une alerte AMBER?

L’alerte AMBER est un dispositif d’alerte permettant d’aviser rapidement la population lorsqu’un enfant est enlevé et que l’on craint pour sa sécurité. Au déclenchement d’une alerte AMBER, les médias interrompent immédiatement leur programmation pour diffuser de l’information sur l’enfant enlevé, son présumé ravisseur et la description de son véhicule, le cas échéant. Le dispositif d’alerte AMBER mobilise aussitôt la population locale pour repérer l’enfant et son ravisseur.

Quelle est l’utilité d’une alerte AMBER?

Des recherches montrent que c’est souvent dans les heures qui suivent l’enlèvement que le ravisseur risque de s’en prendre à l’enfant. Le dispositif d’alerte AMBER accélère les recherches et permet :

  • de sensibiliser la population à l’urgence de la situation;

  • de demander la collaboration de la population pour retrouver l’enfant et appréhender son ravisseur;

  • de doter la police d’un puissant outil pour faciliter les recherches, et les médias, d’un moyen de rendre service à la population en relayant les alertes;

  • d’aider la police à trouver des témoins et à résoudre rapidement les cas d’enlèvement d’enfant grâce à une couverture médiatique abondante.

Au Canada, les dispositifs d’alerte AMBER sont gérés par des instances provinciales. Un comité d’alerte AMBER est en place dans la plupart des provinces, mais seule la police peut déclencher une alerte AMBER.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.