Back to missingkids.ca home page

Get Involved

There are many ways to get involved and help in the search for Canada’s missing children. In this section, you will find suggestions on how you can make a difference.

Donate today

Making a donation can help in the search for missing children and contribute to the essential services required by families of a missing child. MissingKids.ca depends on financial contributions from the public in order to continue the search for missing children, provide support services to searching families, and develop educational materials. Donations of any size are welcome and appreciated!

  • Donate to MissingKids.ca through our secure online donation system.

Sign up for MissingKidsALERT

MissingKidsALERT is a public notification service that provides critical information in the search for missing children. Through this service, individuals, businesses and organizations can quickly and easily sign-up to receive missing child alerts through a variety of electronic platforms.

When more people know, more people are looking. Sign up and become part of the search.

Take Action

There are many ways you can take action in your community to help reduce the number of children who go missing. The following are some ideas of how you can take action:

  • Ask your local schools to become involved in the Kids in the Know program. Kids in the Know is an interactive safety education program with the goal of increasing the personal safety of children and reducing their risk of sexual exploitation. Personal safety strategies are taught in an age-appropriate and fun way. Download the Kids in the Know brochure to pass along to your child’s school.

  • Ask your early childhood learning centre to get involved with the Teatree Tells program. Teatree Tells: A Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Kit has been designed to teach early childhood educators how to address the sensitive subject of child sexual abuse with families and children.

  • Ask your local child-serving organizations to begin using the Commit to Kids program. Commit to Kids is a program to help organizations create safe environments for children. It provides policies, strategies, and a step-by-step plan for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse, encouraging organizations to take an active, participatory role in protecting children in their care. Child-serving organizations implementing this program are sending a clear message that the safety of children is a priority.

Be Informed

Public participation is critical to the location of missing children – this is why it is important to stay connected and informed. We encourage you to sign up for updates, news and developments with regard to missing children in Canada.

Spread the word

Help raise awareness about MissingKidsALERT on Facebook and Twitter and encourage others to get involved. Use one of these sample posts on your Facebook and Twitter page, or write one of your own.

Sample Facebook post:

1 in 6 missing kids is found because someone recognized them from a photo. You can help – sign up for MissingKidsALERT and become part of the search. www.missingkidsalert.ca/app/en/signup

Sample Twitter post:

When more people know, more people are looking for a missing child. Sign up for MissingKidsALERT www.missingkidsalert.ca/app/en/signup

Writing your own? Here are some links you could include:
MissingKidsALERT sign up page: www.missingkidsalert.ca/app/en/signup

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Comment aider

Plusieurs options s’offrent à vous pour aider aux recherches d’enfants disparus au Canada. Voici quelques suggestions.

Faites un don

L’argent recueilli servira à financer les recherches d’enfants disparus ainsi que les services essentiels dont leurs familles ont besoin. Le programme EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca dépend du soutien financier de la population afin de poursuivre ses efforts pour retrouver les enfants disparus, d’offrir des services de soutien aux familles éprouvées et de créer du matériel de sensibilisation. Quelle que soit la taille de votre don, nous vous en serons reconnaissants.

  • Donnez à EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca par l’entremise de notre système sécurisé de don en ligne.

Abonnez-vous à l’AlerteEnfantsDisparus

L’AlerteEnfantsDisparus est un service d’alerte à la population qui diffuse des renseignements essentiels dans le but de retrouver un enfant disparu. Ce service permet aux particuliers, aux entreprises et aux organismes de s’inscrire rapidement et facilement pour recevoir des avis de disparition d’enfant à travers diverses plates-formes électroniques.

Plus l’information circule, plus les gens sont aux aguets. Abonnez-vous pour vous joindre aux efforts de recherche.

Impliquez-vous

Plusieurs options s’offrent à vous si vous souhaitez agir dans votre milieu pour réduire le nombre de disparitions d’enfants. Voici quelques suggestions :

  • Demandez à vos écoles locales de participer au programme Enfants avertis. Ce programme interactif d’éducation à la protection apprend aux enfants à mieux se protéger et à être moins vulnérables à l’exploitation sexuelle. Les stratégies de protection sont enseignées aux élèves selon une approche amusante et adaptée à leur âge. Téléchargez le document d’information sur le programme Enfants avertis et remettez-le à l’école de votre enfant.

  • Demandez à votre centre de la petite enfance d'utiliser la trousse Tatie se confie. Cette trousse de prévention des abus pédosexuels explique aux éducateurs de la petite enfance comment discuter de la délicate question des abus pédosexuels avec les familles et les enfants.

  • Demandez aux organismes de services à l’enfance près de chez vous de commencer à utiliser le programme Priorité Jeunesse. Le programme Priorité Jeunesse aide les organismes à offrir un milieu sûr aux enfants. Il propose des politiques, des stratégies et un plan méthodique pour réduire les risques d’abus pédosexuels et encourager les organismes à veiller activement sur la sécurité des enfants dont ils ont la charge. Tout organisme qui met en œuvre ce programme montre clairement qu’il prend très au sérieux la protection des enfants.

Renseignez-vous

La collaboration de la population est indispensable aux efforts de recherche en cas de disparition d’enfant. D’où l’importance d’être au courant de ce qui se passe. Nous vous encourageons à vous inscrire aux avis de recherche et à suivre les actualités concernant les disparitions d’enfants au Canada.

Passez le mot

Aidez-nous à faire connaître le service AlerteEnfantsDisparus sur Facebook et Twitter et invitez les gens à se mobiliser. Inspirez-vous des exemples qui suivent pour publier un message sur vos comptes Facebook et Twitter, ou rédigez votre propre message.

Exemple pour Facebook

Un enfant disparu sur six est retrouvé après avoir été reconnu sur une photo. Vous pouvez aider : abonnez-vous à l’AlerteEnfantsDisparus et participez aux efforts de recherche. www.AlerteEnfantsDisparus.ca/app/fr/signup

Exemple pour Twitter

Disparitions d’enfants : plus l’info circule, plus les gens sont aux aguets. Abonnez-vous à l’AlerteEnfantsDisparus http://ow.ly/MBbaq

Vous préférez rédiger votre propre message? Voici quelques liens que vous pourriez y mettre :
Page d’inscription à l’AlerteEnfantsDisparus : www.AlerteEnfantsDisparus.ca/app/fr/signup

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.