Back to missingkids.ca home page

April 13, 2012

TWO-YEAR SEARCH CONTINUES: MISSING MANCHESTER CHILDREN BELIEVED TO BE IN THE TORONTO AREA

Public encouraged to visit MissingKids.ca to study children’s pictures and get involved in the search for Ahmed and Khalid Abubakar

Winnipeg, MB: Tomorrow marks the second-year anniversary that Abdul Abubakar’s two young sons, Ahmed and Khalid Abubakar, were abducted. The boys, now 4 and 6 years of age, were reported missing on April 13th, 2010 after allegedly being abducted by their mother, Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim, from Manchester, England. Since it is suspected they may be living in the Toronto area, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, the Greater Manchester Police and the Toronto Police Service are appealing to the public to study the children’s pictures featured on MissingKids.ca and get involved in the search for these little boys.

“Over the last year we have seen a number of families reunited because of one observant person taking the time to get involved,” said Christy Dzikowicz, Director of MissingKids.ca, the Canadian Centre’s national missing children resource and response centre. “We know that children are found when Canadians take the time to look at the photos of children and become a part of the search. We really believe that these children can be located but we need the public’s help.”

Greater Manchester Police say that on April 9th, 2010, Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim took her two children by bus from London, England to Amsterdam. Ibrahim then travelled with her boys to Frankfurt, Germany, where, on April 13th, 2010, she boarded a plane enroute to Toronto, Ontario, with her children. She is wanted by the Greater Manchester Police for unlawfully abducting the boys. Although Ibrahim and her children’s whereabouts are unknown, police suspect they may still be in the Toronto area and possibly connecting with the Somali community in this region.

“While we have devoted a large amount of police resources to finding Anisa and the two boys since they disappeared, we need the public’s help in order to take this investigation further,” said Detective Inspector Kevin Marriott, who is based out of the South Manchester Crime Operations Unit. “Our priority is to ensure that both boys are located safe and healthy. I am also appealing to the Somalian community worldwide to come forward with any information they have as to the whereabouts of the children and Anisa. We have significant concerns about the well-being of these children.”

Anyone with information about the whereabouts of Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim and her children, Ahmed and Khalid Abubakar, are encouraged to contact The Toronto Police Service at 416-808-2222 or the Greater Manchester Police directly at 00 44 161 856 6104; or MissingKids.ca at 1-866-KID-TIPS (543-8477) or online at missingkids.ca.

-30-

For more information please contact:
Carolyn Shimmin, Communications Coordinator, Canadian Centre for Child Protection
Office: (204) 945-8074 Cell: (204) 801-6838
Email: carolyn@protectchildren.ca

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

13 avril 2012

RECHERCHÉS DEPUIS DEUX ANS : DES ENFANTS DISPARUS DE MANCHESTER SERAIENT DANS LA RÉGION DE TORONTO

La population est invitée à examiner les photos des enfants sur EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca et à participer à la recherche d’Ahmed et de Khalid Abubakar

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : Demain marquera le deuxième anniversaire de la disparition des deux fils d’Abdul Abubakar, Ahmed et Khalid Abubakar. Les garçons, maintenant âgés de 4 et 6 ans, ont été portés disparus le 13 avril 2010 après avoir été prétendument enlevés par leur mère, Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim, de Manchester (Royaume-Uni). Comme on les soupçonne d’habiter la région de Toronto, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, les services de police de Manchester et la Police de Toronto demandent à la population d’examiner les photos des enfants sur le site EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca pour les aider à retrouver ces deux jeunes garçons.

« Au cours de la dernière année, nous avons réuni plusieurs familles grâce aux observations d’une personne qui a pris le temps de s’intéresser aux recherches », souligne Christy Dzikowicz, directrice d’EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca, le centre de ressources national sur les enfants disparus mis en place par le Centre canadien. Il nous arrive de retrouver des enfants grâce à l’aide de Canadiens et de Canadiennes qui prennent le temps d’examiner les photos des enfants et de participer aux recherches. Nous croyons sincèrement être en mesure de localiser ces garçons, mais nous avons besoin de la population pour y arriver. »

Selon la police de Manchester, Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim a pris un autocar avec ses deux enfants à Londres en direction d’Amsterdam le 9 avril 2010. Elle s’est ensuite rendue à Francfort, en Allemagne, où, le 13 avril 2010, elle a pris un vol pour Toronto, Ontario, avec ses deux garçons. La Police du Grand Manchester la recherche pour l’enlèvement illégal des garçons. L’endroit où la mère et ses enfants se trouveraient est inconnu, mais la police soupçonne qu’ils sont peut-être toujours à Toronto et qu’ils auraient des contacts avec la communauté somalienne locale.

« Nos services travaillent très fort pour repérer Anisa et ses garçons depuis leur disparition, mais nous faisons maintenant appel à la population pour intensifier les recherches, indique l’inspecteur-détective Kevin Marriott, de la section des opérations criminelles de South Manchester. Notre priorité est de retrouver les garçons sains et saufs. Je demande aussi à la communauté somalienne internationale de nous communiquer toute information qui permettrait de retrouver ces enfants et leur mère Anisa. Nous nous faisons beaucoup de soucis pour le bien-être de ces enfants. »

Toute personne qui posséderait des informations sur l’endroit où se trouveraient Anisa Mohamed Ibrahim et ses enfants, Ahmed et Khalid Abubakar, est priée de communiquer avec la Police de Toronto au 416 808-2222 ou la Police du Grand Manchester au 00 44 161 856 6104, ou de contacter EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca au 1 866 543-8477 ou, par Internet, sur le site EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca.

-30-

Renseignements:
Carolyn Shimmin, coordonnatrice des communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance
Bureau : (204) 945-8074 Cellulaire : (204) 801-6838
Courriel : carolyn@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.