Back to home page

This section deals with the abduction of a child by a complete stranger, or an abduction of a child by someone who is not the child’s parent/guardian (for example, an acquaintance, another family member, etc.).

The abduction of a child by a complete stranger is the rarest, but most alarming type of missing child case. While these types of cases seldom occur in Canada, when they do happen, communities can be changed forever. This crime can have an enormous impact on society, generating wide-ranging media coverage, as well as an overwhelming response from the community.

Due to the serious nature of this crime, it is important to act quickly. The police need to be notified immediately so that appropriate steps can be taken. How law enforcement choose to respond is based on the information that is available to them — for example, the police may consider issuing an AMBER Alert, a comprehensive plan that involves widespread media broadcasts in order to engage a community in the search, if a child abduction has been confirmed, and law enforcement believe that the child is in imminent danger. Only law enforcement is able to activate an AMBER Alert.

The following sections provide important information on the subject of stranger or ‘non-family’ abductions, including safety strategies parents can teach their children in order to reduce their risk of victimization as well as important resources for parents and communities dealing with the trauma associated with the abduction of a child by a stranger.

Understanding Abduction

The crime of abduction is a much broader issue than people may perceive. It includes scenarios the public would typically think of as abduction, such as when a child is taken by a stranger off the street and goes missing for a long period of time. However, the definition of abduction may also include situations where a child is abducted for a very short period of time, is located safely and may not have been taken very far. There is no “minimum” period of time that a child needs to be missing for it to qualify as an abduction — all that is required is that the child be taken out of the possession of, without the consent of and against the will of the parent or guardian.

To add to the confusion, the terms “stranger abduction” and “non-family abduction” are terms that are used to describe both cases when a child is taken by a complete stranger, and cases when a child is taken by someone other than his or her parent. In the latter case, the abductor may be an acquaintance, a relative that is not a parent, or someone else that the child has had some kind of contact with — so an individual who is technically not a “stranger” in the ordinary sense of the word. This section addresses both types of situations: when a child is abducted by a complete stranger as well as when a child is abducted by a person known to them in some way. We use the term “stranger abduction” throughout the section to refer to both types of cases. For more information about abductions of children by parents, see the Parental Child Abduction section.

Reports that include high numbers of children abducted by “strangers” often include all of the above examples of abductions in the statistics. It is important to recognize that cases where the abductor is known to the child are far more common than cases where the abductor is a complete stranger — also, cases where the child is abducted for a short period of time are far more common than cases where the child is abducted for a long period of time.

Research shows that of the 58,000 non-family abductions each year in the United States, 63% involved a family friend, long-term acquaintance, neighbour, caretaker, babysitter or person in a position of authority and only 37% involved a stranger. The number of complete strangers is not insignificant but it remains far smaller than other offenders who have easy and legitimate access to children. (Source: National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities).

Reasons Why Stranger Abductions Occur:

An individual may abduct a child for a number of reasons, the most common reasons cited include:

  • For a Sexual Purpose – The majority of abductions committed by non-family members are motivated by the offender’s sexual interest in the child. In many circumstances, children are abducted, sexually assaulted, and released by the offender. The vast majority of these types of offences are committed by males.

  • Financial Incentives/Motives – These types of child abductions occur because an individual intends to profit from the abduction — this may include kidnapping a child for ransom, taking a child during the commission of a theft of a car, or exploiting a child through black-market industries such as adoption rings, etc.

  • To Exert Control, Aggression or Violence – These types of child abductions are rare — they are motivated by an offender’s desire to control, dominate and cause harm to a child and/or a child’s family. In some cases, it is an act of retaliation or retribution against a parent, a family or a community for a perceived wrong or out of some sort of debt (e.g. drugs, gangs, gambling, etc.).

  • Due to Emotional/Mental Health Issues – An example of this type of child abduction would be a female offender who takes a very young child or newborn thinking that the child is, in fact, her child or with the desire to make the child “her own.” Another example of this type of child abduction would be an individual who has suffered a trauma, such as the loss of a child, takes another individual’s child to replace what has been lost. These types of offences are rare, and committed by offenders with severe mental health issues.

Keep in mind that there are exceptions to every rule, and until the child is located, it is difficult to determine the motivation of their abductor.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

La présente section porte sur l’enlèvement d’un enfant par un parfait étranger, ou l’enlèvement d’un enfant par une personne autre que le père, la mère ou un substitut parental de l’enfant (par exemple, une connaissance, un autre membre de la famille, etc.).

Les disparitions d’enfant suite à un enlèvement par un parfait étranger sont les cas les plus rares, mais les plus alarmants. Les disparitions de ce type surviennent rarement au Canada, mais lorsqu’elles surviennent, elles marquent la communauté à jamais. Ce crime bouleverse la population tout entière, génère une couverture médiatique énorme et suscite un fort élan de sympathie.

Vu la gravité du crime, il est important d’agir rapidement. La police doit être prévenue immédiatement afin que les mesures nécessaires soient prises. La police déterminera sa stratégie d’intervention en fonction des informations dont elle dispose. Par exemple, si l’enlèvement est confirmé et que la police craint pour la sécurité de l’enfant, elle pourrait choisir de déclencher une alerte AMBER, qui consiste à diffuser largement dans les médias des avis visant à mobiliser la population dans le but de retrouver l’enfant. Seule la police peut déclencher une alerte AMBER.

Les sections suivantes contiennent des renseignements importants sur l’enlèvement d’un enfant par un étranger (ou par une personne « hors famille »), notamment des consignes de sécurité à apprendre aux enfants pour les prémunir contre la maltraitance ainsi que de précieuses ressources pour les familles et les communautés traumatisées à la suite d’un enlèvement d’enfant par un étranger.

Qu’est-ce qu’un enlèvement

L’enlèvement est un crime problème beaucoup plus complexe qu’on pourrait le penser. Il englobe les situations que les gens associent normalement à un enlèvement, comme lorsqu’un enfant est capturé dans la rue par un étranger et disparaît pendant longtemps. Or, la définition d’un enlèvement peut aussi inclure des situations où un enfant est enlevé pour une très courte période et retrouvé sain et sauf sans nécessairement avoir été emmené bien loin. Il n’y a pas de durée « minimale » pour qu’un enlèvement soit considéré comme tel; tout ce qu’il faut, c’est qu’un parent ou substitut parental soit dépossédé de son enfant sans son consentement et contre sa volonté.

Pour ajouter à la confusion, les termes enlèvement par un étranger et enlèvement par une personne hors famille sont des termes utilisés pour décrire à la fois les cas où un enfant est enlevé par un parfait étranger et les cas où un enfant est enlevé par une personne autre qu’un parent. Dans le dernier cas, le ravisseur peut aussi bien être une connaissance qu’un membre de la parenté autre que le père ou la mère ou une autre personne liée d’une quelconque manière à l’enfant, c’est-à-dire quelqu’un qui n’est pas un « étranger » au sens usuel du terme. La présente section portera sur ces deux types de cas, à savoir les cas où un enfant est enlevé par un parfait étranger et les cas où un enfant est enlevé par une personne qu’il connaît d’une quelconque manière. Nous utiliserons le terme enlèvement par un étranger dans cette section pour désigner les deux types de cas. Pour vous renseigner sur les cas d’enlèvement d’un enfant par un parent, consulter la section Enlèvement parental.

Lorsqu’un rapport fait état d’un grand nombre d’enfants enlevés par des « étrangers », tous les exemples mentionnés précédemment sont souvent inclus dans les statistiques. Il est important de souligner que les cas où le ravisseur est connu de l’enfant sont beaucoup plus fréquents que les cas où le ravisseur est un parfait étranger. De même, les cas où l’enfant est enlevé pour une courte période sont beaucoup plus fréquents que les cas où l’enfant est enlevé pour une longue période.

Les statistiques montrent que sur les 58 000 cas d’enlèvement par une personne hors famille qui surviennent chaque année aux États-Unis, 63 % impliquent une personne que l’enfant connaît (ami de la famille, connaissance de longue date, voisin, gardienne, personne en position d’autorité, etc.) et 37 % impliquent un étranger. Sans être négligeable, le nombre de parfaits étrangers demeure bien en deçà de celui des autres ravisseurs qui côtoient légitimement les enfants. (Source : National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities)

Quels sont les motifs d’un enlèvement par un étranger?

Plusieurs raisons peuvent amener une personne à enlever un enfant, mais les raisons plus souvent citées sont :

  • Enlèvements pour motifs sexuels – La majorité des enlèvements par une personne hors famille sont motivés par l’intérêt sexuel du ravisseur pour l’enfant. Dans de nombreuses circonstances, les enfants sont enlevés, agressés sexuellement et libérés par le ravisseur. La grande majorité de ces crimes sont commis par des individus de sexe masculin.
  • Dans ce genre de situation, explique-t-on dans une publication du National Center for Missing & Exploited Children intitulée Child Molesters Who Abduct (1995) :

Le ravisseur est le plus souvent une personne particulièrement asociale, non mariée, sans lien avec l’enfant enlevé et qui n’avait pas de contacts fréquents avec des enfants.

  • Enlèvements pour motifs pécuniaires – Les enlèvements de ce type sont des affaires d’argent; l’enfant peut être kidnappé contre rançon, enlevé lors d’un vol de voiture ou exploité sur le marché noir (réseaux illégaux d’adoption, etc.).

  • Enlèvements motivés par le pouvoir ou la violence – Les enlèvements de ce type sont rares; ils sont motivés par le désir du ravisseur d’exercer un pouvoir ou une domination sur un enfant ou sa famille ou de s’en prendre à un enfant ou à sa famille. Il peut s’agir d’un acte de représailles ou de vengeance à l’endroit d’un parent, d’une famille ou d’une communauté à cause d’un tort que le ravisseur aurait subi ou d’une quelconque dette (drogue, gang, jeu, etc.).

  • Enlèvements liés à des problèmes de santé émotionnelle ou mentale – Un exemple de ce type d’enlèvement d’enfant serait une femme qui part avec un très jeune enfant ou un nouveau-né en s’imaginant que cet enfant est en réalité le sien ou en voulant en faire son propre enfant. Un autre exemple de ce type d’enlèvement d’enfant serait une personne qui, ayant subi un traumatisme comme la perte d’un enfant, s’empare de l’enfant de quelqu’un d’autre pour remplacer celui qu’elle a perdu. Les enlèvements de ce type sont rares et sont commis par des ravisseurs souffrant de graves problèmes de santé mentale.

Sachez qu’il y a des exceptions à toutes les règles et qu’il est difficile de déterminer les motivations du ravisseur avant que l’enfant ne soit retrouvé.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.