Back to missingkids.ca home page

Preventing Stranger Abductions

Unlike other situations where children go missing, stranger abductions are the hardest to predict. A parent may be able to recognize signs that their child may potentially try to run away from home, or a parent may have concerns that a former partner may abduct their child, but stranger abductions are hardest to predict. In these situations, when a child is targeted, there is very little any parent could have done to predict the incident.

Nonetheless, statistics show that there are many more “attempted abductions” than there are actual abductions. Experts believe that, “the fact that so many children have escaped from possibly dangerous situations says that children can, in certain circumstances, safely get away from someone who attempts to lure them and that the need for such skills seems to arise with measurable frequency.” 1 Therefore, by teaching children basic personal safety skills, parents will give them the tools needed to reduce their likelihood of being victimized. Children who learn to be assertive, and how to recognize and respond safely to potentially dangerous situations, are less likely to be targeted by an offender. Additionally, research has shown that there are certain types of situations that make children more vulnerable to a stranger abduction. For example, a Canadian study from 2004 found that:

  • 38% of attempted abductions occur while a child is walking alone to or from school, riding the school bus or riding a bicycle;

  • 37% of attempted abductions occur between the hours of 2:00 PM through 7:00 PM on a weekday;

  • 43% of attempted abductions involve children between the ages of 10 and 14;

  • 72% of attempted abduction victims are female;

  • 68% of attempted abductions involve a suspect driving a vehicle.” 2

Research has shown that individuals attempting to abduct a child will oftentimes try different types of tactics to lure or entice a child to come with them. The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children in the United States found that the five most common lures used by offenders include:

  • Offering a child a ride;

  • Offering a child candy or sweets;

  • Showing a child an animal;

  • Asking a child for help in finding an animal (such as a lost pet); or

  • Offering a child money or asking a child for directions.3

Keep in mind that using a fear-based approach to teach children safety is ineffective. Building children’s confidence and personal safety competence will help reduce their risk of being targeted by an offender. Children should be taught how to make safe decisions, how to recognize potentially dangerous situations, and to trust their instincts. In order to thrive in life, children need to feel safe and secure in their environments. The following subsections include numerous safety strategies you can teach your child in order to reduce their risk of victimization.

1 Finkelhor et al., The Abduction of Children by Strangers and Nonfamily Members, Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 1992, Pg. 240.

2 National Center for Missing & Exploited Children news release, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities, August 18, 2010.

3 National Center for Missing & Exploited Children news release, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities, August 18, 2010.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Prévenir les enlèvements par un étranger

Contrairement aux autres circonstances qui mènent à la disparition d’un enfant, les enlèvements par un étranger sont les plus imprévisibles. Un parent peut déceler des signes avant-coureurs d’une fugue chez son enfant ou craindre que son ex vienne enlever son enfant, mais les enlèvements par un étranger sont les plus imprévisibles. Lorsqu’un enfant tombe entre les mains d’un étranger, on voit mal comment ses parents auraient pu prévoir l’incident.

Néanmoins, les statistiques démontrent qu’il y a beaucoup plus de « tentatives d’enlèvement » que d’enlèvements proprement dits. Les experts estiment que « le fait que tant d’enfants aient échappé à des situations potentiellement dangereuses montre que les enfants savent, dans certaines circonstances, se mettre à l’abri de quelqu’un qui essaie de les amadouer, et l’importance d’acquérir de telles habiletés semble devenir de plus en plus grande ». 1 Par conséquent, en apprenant les bases de la sécurité personnelle à vos enfants, vous leur donnerez les outils nécessaires pour se prémunir contre la maltraitance. Les enfants qui apprennent des techniques d’assertivité et qui savent déceler les situations potentiellement dangereuses et y réagir risquent moins de se faire cibler par un ravisseur. De plus, la recherche montre qu’il y a certaines situations où les enfants sont plus vulnérables à un enlèvement par un étranger. Par exemple, une étude de 2004 2 a constaté que :

  • 38 % des tentatives d’enlèvement se produisent lorsqu’un enfant marche seul entre son domicile et son école, prend l’autobus scolaire ou fait de la bicyclette;

  • 37 % des tentatives d’enlèvement surviennent entre 14 h et 19 h en semaine;

  • 43 % des tentatives d’enlèvement visent des enfants de 10 à 14 ans;

  • 72 % des victimes de tentative d’enlèvement sont de sexe féminin;

  • 68 % des tentatives d’enlèvement impliquent un suspect au volant d’un véhicule.

La recherche montre que les auteurs de tentatives d’enlèvement d’enfant s’y prennent souvent par différents moyens pour amadouer les enfants ou les inciter à les suivre. Le National Center for Missing and Exploited Children des États-Unis a constaté que les cinq ruses les plus souvent utilisées par les ravisseurs 3 sont :

  • offrir à l’enfant de le conduire quelque part;

  • offrir des bonbons ou des friandises à l’enfant;

  • montrer un animal à un enfant;

  • demander de l’aide à un enfant pour retrouver un animal (par ex., un chiot perdu);

  • offrir de l’argent ou demander son chemin à un enfant.

Sachez que la peur n’est pas un outil efficace pour éduquer les enfants à la sécurité. Pour rendre un enfant moins attrayant aux yeux d’un ravisseur, il faut notamment développer sa confiance en soi et lui inculquer des règles de sécurité personnelle. Les enfants doivent apprendre à faire des choix prudents, à déceler les situations potentiellement dangereuses et à se fier à leur instinct. Pour s’épanouir dans la vie, les enfants ont besoin de se sentir en sécurité. Vous retrouverez sous les rubriques qui suivent de nombreuses consignes de sécurité que nous vous suggérons d’apprendre à votre enfant pour le prémunir contre la maltraitance.

1 Finkelhor et coll., « The Abduction of Children by Strangers and Nonfamily Members », Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 1992, p. 240.

2 Communiqué du National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities, 18 août 2010.

3 Communiqué du National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, Children at Greatest Risk of Abduction When Going To and From School or School-Related Activities, 18 août 2010.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.