Back to missingkids.ca home page

How to Help a Runaway Child

If you ever meet a runaway child in your community, it may be difficult to know how to help them. Many may have run away from abusive environments, or for personal reasons. Runaway children are more vulnerable to being victimized through gang recruitment, drug and/or alcohol use issues, homelessness, and sexual exploitation. It is important to protect these children, offer them the support and assistance they need, and find them a safe place to live.

If you come across a child or youth who is a runaway:

  1. Call the local police.

  2. Call MissingKids.ca at 1-866-KID-TIPS or report a tip/sighting here.

  3. Check our Missing Children Database to see if you recognize the child from a missing report.

  4. Get in touch with a child welfare agency in your community.

  5. Search the phone book for community organizations that provide safe housing, shelter, food or clothing to those in need.

  6. Do not take it upon yourself to provide a safe haven for the runaway child. Although the child may have valid reasons for leaving home it is important to allow the proper authorities to handle the situation.

  7. If you have come across or know of someone who is harbouring runaway youth, call law enforcement immediately. This person may be harming and taking advantage of these vulnerable youth – not helping them.

Unfortunately there are individuals who can sense the vulnerability of runaway youth and may seek to exploit them. It is important that we do not allow this to happen, and support runaway children the best we can. We need to let these youth know that they are not alone, that there are people who care about them, and that they can get help.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Comment aider un enfant fugueur

Si vous rencontrez un enfant fugueur dans votre communauté, vous ne saurez peut-être pas comment l’aider. Certains fuient des milieux où ils sont victimes d’abus, ou pour des raisons personnelles. Les enfants fugueurs sont plus vulnérables au recrutement par un gang de rue, à la consommation de drogue ou d’alcool, à l’itinérance et à l’exploitation sexuelle. Il est important de protéger ces enfants, de leur offrir l’aide dont ils ont besoin et de les loger en lieu sûr.

Si vous rencontrez un enfant ou un adolescent qui a fait une fugue :

  1. Appelez la police.

  2. Appelez EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca au 1-866-543-8477 ou faites un signalement ici.

  3. Vérifiez la Base de données nationale pour voir si vous reconnaissez l’enfant dans un dossier de signalement.

  4. Communiquez avec l’agence de protection de l’enfance de votre communauté.

  5. Cherchez dans le bottin téléphonique les organismes associatifs qui offrent des services d’hébergement, des repas ou des vêtements aux personnes dans le besoin.

  6. N’essayez pas de répondre aux besoins de l’enfant fugueur par vous-même. Même si l’enfant peut avoir des raisons valables d’avoir quitté la maison, il est important de laisser les autorités compétentes gérer la situation.

  7. Si vous apprenez qu’une personne accueille de jeunes fugueurs, appelez la police sur-le-champ. Cette personne pourrait faire du mal à ces jeunes vulnérables et profiter d’eux, au lieu de les aider.

Malheureusement, certaines personnes sentent la vulnérabilité des jeunes fugueurs et en profitent pour les exploiter. Il est important de ne pas laisser cela se produire et d’aider de notre mieux les enfants fugueurs. Il faut faire comprendre à ces jeunes qu’ils ne sont pas seuls, que des gens s’occupent d’eux et qu’ils peuvent obtenir de l’aide.

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.