Back to missingkids.ca home page

Unknown Cases and Young Adult Cases

Every year there are significant numbers of missing person reports made to police involving young adults (from early teens up to the age of 25) and often there is no explanation for their disappearance. If a child or young adult goes missing for no explainable reason, they are considered an ‘unknown case.’ According to the 2009 Missing Children Reference Report, the majority (23%) of missing child reports made to police in 2009 fell into the ‘unknown’ category.1 While most children and young adults who go missing are only gone for a short period of time, there are circumstances that require swift action from concerned parents. If you are the parent of a child, youth or young adult who has gone missing for unknown reasons, this section includes information about what important steps you need to take to help locate your child. Also included in this section is information about risks facing young adults, and suggestions on ways to help reduce these risks.

What Does an “Unknown Case” Mean?

While oftentimes parents or guardians know why their child has gone missing, there are cases where no one is certain as to why the child has disappeared. Such cases can be very difficult and often raise unanswered questions for everyone involved. Over the past ten years in Canada, there have been numerous cases where searching families have been unable to determine why their child has disappeared. While speculation is common, in many situations, the facts surrounding the disappearance combined with the known personality of the child do not point to any one reason for the child to have gone missing. It is important that if you are the parent of a missing child and you have no reasonable explanation or concrete opinion as to why your child is missing, that you make that very clear to the police. This information will be very relevant in the search for your child and will also prevent assumptions from being made that might limit the degree and type of police action and involvement.

What Might be the Reason for a Child, Youth or Young Adult to Go Missing?

There are many reasons why children, youth or young adults go missing. Sometimes when a child, youth or young adult goes missing, there are simple explanations, such as they forgot to call home, they lost track of time or they became temporarily lost. In these circumstances, children, youth or young adults are usually located quite quickly. In other, more concerning situations, the child, youth or young adult may have had an accident, run away, or someone has harmed or taken them.

In these types of cases, there are some common characteristics of children, youth and young adults, and as a searching parent, you may also benefit from reading the Runaway information sections of MissingKids.ca if your child is missing for unknown reasons.

If Your Child is Missing, You Must Act Quickly

If your child is missing, you have reason to believe that their disappearance seems out of character for them, and you nor anyone else has had contact with them, you need to immediately report your child missing to the police. You are in the best position to say if your child’s disappearance is out of character for them, and you may need to be persistent with law enforcement in order to make them understand the seriousness of your concerns. For example, if it is unusual for your child to stay out all night or not show up at work, this is something you need to emphasize when speaking with the police. Being able to assure the police that your son or daughter ALWAYS calls when they are going to be late or that your child NEVER misses work without calling, can go a long way in creating a more immediate response from law enforcement. Remember, the police receive thousands of missing children and missing person’s reports — they need to know what makes your case urgent. In the absence of any other information on where your child was going, and who your child was with, police will be relying on your knowledge of your child.

Dalley, Ph.D., Marlene, Canadian Police Center for Missing and Exploited Children, National Missing Children Services, National Police Services, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/pubs/omc-ned/an-ra/annrep-rappann-09-eng.htm, 2009.

Are you sure you want to cancel your intake? Information you have entered up to this point will not be saved.

Retour à la page d’accueil

Enfant disparu sans motif connu et jeune adulte disparu

Chaque année, les forces policières reçoivent le signalement d’un grand nombre de disparitions de jeunes adultes (début de l’adolescence à l’âge de 25 ans) qui demeurent souvent inexpliquées. Quand un enfant ou un jeune adulte disparaît sans raison apparente, on parle alors de « disparition sans motif connu ». Selon le Compte rendu sur les enfants disparus - 2009 : Services nationaux des enfants disparus, la majorité (23%) des signalements d’enfants disparus faits auprès de la police en 2009 se retrouvent sous la catégorie « inconnu ».1 En général, les enfants et les jeunes adultes portés disparus sont vite retrouvés mais en d’autres circonstances, les parents inquiets se doivent de réagir rapidement. Si vous êtes parent d’un enfant ou d’un jeune adulte disparu sans motif connu, ce segment d’information vous indiquera la marche à suivre et les actes essentiels à poser pour tenter de localiser votre enfant ; vous serez également renseigné sur les risques encourus par nos jeunes adultes et sur les mesures à prendre pour diminuer cette part de risques.

Que signifie « sans motif connu » ?

Bien souvent, parents et tuteurs savent pour quelle raison leur enfant a disparu. Mais dans certains cas, nul ne parvient à expliquer cette disparition ; ce sont les cas les plus difficiles à résoudre et toutes les personnes touchées soulèveront une foule de questions qui resteront souvent sans réponse. Au cours de la dernière décennie, nombre de familles canadiennes à la recherche de leur enfant n’ont pu expliquer cette disparition. On peut toujours spéculer, tenter de combiner les faits entourant la disparition de l’enfant et la personnalité de ce dernier pour trouver une explication valable mais en vain. Si vous êtes un parent dont l’enfant ou le jeune adulte est disparu sans motif connu, il est important d’insister sur ce point lors de votre signalement auprès des forces policières. Cette information est d’une importance capitale ; énoncez-la clairement car elle influera sur le type de recherche menée par la police et évitera tout malentendu pouvant inciter les forces policières à limiter leur action et leur implication dans cette affaire.

Comment expliquer la disparition d’un enfant, d’un ado ou d’un jeune adulte?

Les motifs menant à la disparition d’un enfant, d’un ado ou d’un jeune adulte peuvent être nombreux. Parfois, la raison en est fort simple – l’enfant a oublié de téléphoner à la maison, l’ado ou le jeune adulte n’a pas vu le temps passer ou s’est temporairement égaré. En pareilles circonstances, ces enfants seront rapidement localisés dans la plupart des cas. Mais en d’autres situations plus inquiétantes, l’enfant, l’ado ou le jeune adulte peut avoir été victime d’un accident, avoir fugué, avoir été blessé ou avoir été enlevé.

On retrouve certaines similarités chez ces enfants, ados et jeunes adultes qui se trouvent en pareille situation ; si vous cherchez votre enfant disparu sans motif connu, prenez le temps de lire les documents sous notre rubrique Fugue, dans notre site enfantsportésdisparus.ca.

Si votre enfant est disparu, vous devez agir rapidement

Si votre enfant a disparu, si vous avez des raisons de croire que cette disparition ne lui ressemble guère et s’il n’a communiqué avec personne depuis, vous devez immédiatement signaler sa disparition à la police. Vous êtes la personne tout indiquée pour insister sur le caractère inhabituel de cette disparition et faire comprendre aux policiers le sérieux de la situation. Par exemple, si votre enfant ne reste jamais dehors la nuit ou ne s’absente jamais du travail, vous devez insister sur ce point lors de votre déposition auprès des policiers. Vous obtiendrez rapidement leur collaboration si vous énoncez clairement que votre garçon ou votre fille vous appelle TOUJOURS dès qu’il/elle est en retard ou que votre enfant ne s’absente JAMAIS du travail sans en avertir son employeur. Souvenez-vous que les policiers reçoivent des milliers de signalements de personnes et d’enfants disparus – ils doivent donc savoir ce qui rend votre cas plus urgent qu’un autre. À défaut d’information sur les allées et venues de votre enfant et sur les personnes qui l’accompagnent, les policiers devront se fier à vous, le parent, qui connaît si bien son enfant.

Dalley, Marlene, Ph.D., Centre canadien de police pour les enfants disparus et exploités, Services nationaux des enfants disparus, Services nationaux de police, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, 2009. http://www.missingkids.com/publications/PDF6a

Voulez-vous vraiment annuler la collecte d’information? Toute l’information que vous avez fournie jusqu’à maintenant ne sera pas enregistrée.